Frequently Asked Questions - FAQs

The following questions and answers are based on the regulations on higher education announced by the OEAD, the recommendations of the KUG and previous experience with mobility in general and Covid-19 measures in particular.

Last updated: October 2020

Questions about COVID-19 that affect mobility

!! Nota bene: All important information about Erasmus+ stays during the COVID-19 pandemic can also be found on the OEAD website here and here. !!

Here is a selection of the most important questions:

1. Can I currently do an Erasmus+ stay?
Yes, you can start your planned Erasmus+ stay and it will also be funded, provided the sending university and the host institution agree to it. However, you bear the final responsibility.

2. Where can I find information about COVID-19?
If you have any questions about compulsory school attendance, the running of the schools, universities and exams, call 0800 21 65 95. For more information, visit the Ministry's website. For questions about art and culture, call the culture hotline: 01 53115 - ext. 202 555 (Monday to Friday from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.) or send an email. Further information is available from the Federal Ministry for Social Affairs, Health, Care and Consumer Protection.

3. What do I do if I get sick? Whom can I contact?
If you show symptoms (e.g. fever, coughing, sore throat and breathlessness) and fear that you are suffering from COVID-19, please stay at home and contact the health advice service on 1450. A COVID-19 illness should be reported via email corona(at)kug.ac.at. If you have general questions about COVID-19, please contact the AGES Coronavirus hotline: 0800 555 621 // Information sheet "Illness and emergency" (Available in German only)

4. Do I have health insurance? What do I do when I need to see a doctor?
You must take care of your own insurance cover during your stay abroad in Austria. Please check with your current insurance company. For more information, see OEAD - Insurance for Mobility Programs and OEAD - General Information - Health Insurance (in German only). You can find information from the KUG on health care here. We would also like to make you aware of the FeelSafe Insurcane: a private insurance for students abroad.

5. As an incoming student, do I have to terminate my stay if a new wave of infections breaks out?
Should a new wave break out, it is still your decision whether or not to travel back home. In any case, please note the information on travel warnings, travel restrictions, etc. on the website of the Austrian Foreign Ministry - exit regulations. For questions about travel, contact the consumer advocacy group of Austria (Verein für Konsumentenschutz) - free hotline: 0800 201211 (daily, also on weekends, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.)

6. Can I continue and / or complete courses if I have to go back to my home country due to COVID-19?
Please contact your lecturers, the International Office and your home university and let them know that you will be traveling home but would still like to complete the courses. Before you leave the country, you will also receive a document called "Confirmation of Stay", which you must collect from the International Office. The shortened length of stay will then be confirmed there.

7. I want to terminate my semester at my host university, what can I do?
Please note that the Erasmus+ grant is only paid for the duration of the physical stay on site. However, you could interrupt your stay abroad; the time of interruption would not count. The minimum duration for study visits is three months, for internships two months. If the minimum duration cannot be adhered to due to the corona pandemic, the stays will remain eligible.

8. I cannot start my trip because there is a travel warning for my host country. Some time later, however, the travel warning is lifted. Can I be nominated later?
Yes. You can be nominated later, however, the following must be observed:

  1. The nomination must be made no later than 14 days before the start of the stay.
  2. The Erasmus unit must be informed of the subsequent nomination by email.
  3. The reason for the subsequent nomination must be given in the e-mail to the Erasmus department "Cancellation of the travel warning by the BMEIA on dd.mm.yyyy".

9. I cannot travel to the host country, but would like to complete my entire stay in the form of e-learning / teleworking. Is that possible?
If you would like to receive Erasmus+ funding, no. If courses are completed via e-learning outside the host country, no funding can be given. Students then do not receive a grant and the universities do not receive any OS funds for it. You will not be issued a grant agreement.

10. I suffer from mental health problems. Whom can I contact?
To do this, contact the psychological student advice center // telephone number: +43 316 814748. Here there are tips for dealing with Corona.

11. What do I have to pay attention to when practicing and using the practice rooms?
Note the letter from the ÖH (in German only). Here you can see a video on how to clean a piano with soapy water.

12. Where can I book a practice room?
Practice rooms are booked via KUGonline. Instructions can be found here.

13. Do I have to be registered when I come to university?
Depending on the current COVID-19 situation, you have to register in advance when you enter a KUG building. Please note the information on the KUG website. If you are at the university for the first time, you must also sign the currently valid safety regulations.

14. OUTGOING: How long does my Erasmus+ stay have to be in order to receive funding?
The minimum duration for Erasmus+ study visits is three months, for internships two months. It is recommended that these minimum periods also be adhered to during the corona pandemic. A shortening is possible under certain circumstances.


 

Questions during the application

1. I am currently studying for a bachelor's degree and I already know that I want to go abroad for my master. When can I apply?
You can apply as early as your bachelor's degree but keep in mind that partner universities can request a bachelor's certificate when applying.

2. Can I hand in an application for a Non-EU Student Exchange Program although I already completed an ERASMUS+ stay?
Yes. An application is possible. You don't have any disadvantages!

3. What should I pay attention to when applying?
High-quality application documents and a bit of luck: You should provide written evidence of your linguistic and academic qualifications, explain your motivation for your planned study visit and convince with very good application videos. Of course, the final acceptance also depends on the number of applications at the partner university, which can vary considerably not only from year to year but also from semester to semester. You can increase your chances of being accepted for an Erasmus+ stay by applying to up to three universities at the same time. The final acceptance should be based on academic motives.

4. Do I need to speak German?
The language of instruction is German (level B2). However, it is possible to receive some advice and guidance in English. For attending courses in music theory, music history, music education or other courses where oral explanations are essential, good German knowledge is required (level B2). In research projects the language will be agreed upon between teachers and students. Then it is possible to use the English langauge (level B2 will be required).


Questions about the nomination

1. By when do I have to be nominated as a student in the 2020/2021 academic year?
The main nomination deadlines for study visits in winter semester 2020/2021 are July 15, 2020 and August 31, 2020 (stays from October onwards). As usual, the deadlines for nominations for internships are the 1st and 15th of each month (14-day lead time). For further nomination deadlines, please refer to the guidelines for Erasmus+ mobility within the program countries. Further information can be found on the OEAD website here (in German only).


 

Questions during the stay abroad

Implementation of Erasmus + mobility projects in higher education in the context of COVID-19

1. I would like to take part in e-learning courses at my host university. What do I have to consider?
Please note that your presence at the location of the host institution must be confirmed by a confirmation from the host university or other suitable evidence. After the end of your stay, submit the confirmation of stay to the responsible Erasmus office.

2. Do I receive funding for e-learning courses at the host institution?
Yes. E-learning at the location of the host institution is funded, provided you can confirm your stay with the host institution (confirmation of arrival, confirmation of stay). If for whatever reason you do not receive a confirmation, you can provide other supporting documents (travel documents, confirmation of registration, etc.). This is also possible if the entire stay is completed in the form of e-learning or teleworking. Of course, the e-learning courses are assessed with ECTS credits if these courses are part of the Erasmus+ Learning Agreement.

3. Suppose I have to cancel my guest stay in my host country due to a stronger Covid-19 outbreak. What do I have to consider?
Covid-19- has been classified as a case of force majeure by the European Commission. If you have to leave your host country, you can submit the costs incurred due to "force majeure" to the National Agency. Attention: The classification as a case of force majeure due to Covid-19 is only possible in the event of a travel warning (security level 5 and 6) from the Austrian Foreign Ministry for your host country or the region in which your host institution is located, or if you cancel your stay due to Covid 19 measures cannot be continued (e.g. in the event of company closings). You should therefore always observe the travel warnings and travel restrictions on the website of the Austrian Foreign Ministry - www.bmeia.gv.at.

Frequently Asked Questions - FAQs

Die nachfolgenden Fragen und Antworten orientieren sich an den von der OEAD bekanntgemachten Regelungen zur Hochschulbildung, an den Empfehlungen der KUG und bisherigen Erfahrungen mit Mobilitäten im Allgemeinen und Covid-19-Maßnahmen im Besonderen. 
Stand: Juli 2020

Fragen zu COVID-19 die Mobilitäten betreffen

1. Kann ich derzeit einen Erasmus+ Aufenthalt wahrnehmen? 
Ja, Sie können Ihren geplanten Erasmus+ Aufenthalt antreten und er wird auch gefördert, sofern die Entsendehochschule und die Gasteinrichtung damit einverstanden sind. Die Letztverantwortung liegt jedoch bei Ihnen. 

2. Wo finde ich Informationen über COVID-19?
Bei Fragen zu Schulpflicht, Schulbetrieb, Universitäten und Prüfungen rufen Sie 0800 21 65 95. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Website des Ministeriums. Bei Fragen über Kunst und Kultur rufen Sie die Kultur-Hotline an: 01 53115 - DW 202 555 (Montag bis Freitag von 9 bis 15 Uhr) oder schicken Sie eine E-Mail. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie beim  Bundesministerium Soziales, Gesundheit, Pflege und Konsumentenschutz.

3. Was mache ich, wenn ich krank werde? Wen kann ich kontaktieren?
Wenn Sie Symptome (z.B: Fieber, Husten, Halsschmerzen und Atemlosigkeit) zeigen und befürchten, an COVID-19 erkrankt zu sein, bleiben Sie bitte zuhause und kontaktieren Sie die telefonische Gesundheitsberatung unter 1450. Eine COVID-19-Erkrankung ist an rektor(at)kug.ac.at zu melden. Bei allgemeinen Fragen über COVID-19 wenden Sie sich an die AGES-Coronavirus-Hotline: 0800 555 621 //  Informationsblatt „Krankheit und Notfall“

4. Bin ich krankenversichert? Was tue ich, wenn ich zum Arzt muss?
Für Ihren Versicherungsschutz während Ihres Auslandsaufenthaltes in Österreich müssen Sie selbst Sorge tragen. Bitte informieren Sie sich bei Ihrem aktuellen Versicherungsträger. Für weitere Informationen siehe OEAD - Versicherung für Mobilitätsprogramme und OEAD - Allgemeine Information - Krankenversicherung. Hinweise der KUG zum Thema Krankenvorsorge finden Sie hier. Hinweisen möchten wir auch auf die FeelSafe Insurcane: Privatversicherung für Auslandsstudierende.

5. Muss ich als Incoming-Studierende/r meinen Aufenthalt abbrechen, wenn eine neue Infektionswelle ausbricht?
Sollte eine neue Welle ausbrechen, liegt es in Ihrem Ermessen, ob Sie nach Hause zurück reisen oder nicht. Beachten Sie auf jeden Fall die Informationen zu Reisewarnungen, Reisebeschränkungen usw. auf der Seite des österreichsichen Außenministeirums - Ausreisebestimmungen. Bei Fragen rund ums Reisen: Verein für Konsumenteninformation: kostenlose Hotline: 0800 201211 (täglich, auch am Wochenende, von 9 bis 15 Uhr)

6. Kann ich Kurse weiterführen und/oder abschließen, wenn ich aufgrund von COVID-19 wieder in mein Heimatland fahren muss?
Nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt zu Ihren Lehrenden, der Abteilung für Internationale Beziehungen sowie zu Ihrer Heimatuniversität auf, und melden Sie, dass Sie nach Hause reisen werden, aber die Kurse trotzdem abschließen möchten. Sie bekommen vor Ihrer Ausreise auch ein Bestätigungsdokument (Confirmation of Stay), welches Sie in der Abteilung für Internationale Beziehungen abholen müssen. Dort wird dann die verkürzte Dauer des Aufenthalts bestätigt.

7. Ich möchte mein Semester an meiner Gastuniversität abbrechen, was kann ich tun?
Beachten Sie, dass der Erasmus+ Zuschuss nur für die Dauer des physischen Aufenthalts vor Ort ausbezahlt wird. Sie könnten jedoch Ihren Auslandsaufenthalt unterbrechen; die Zeit der Unterbrechen würde nicht zum Aufenthalt zählen. Die Mindestdauer für Studienaufenthalte beträgt drei Monate, für Praktikumsaufenthalte zwei Monate. Sollte die Mindestdauer dann aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie nicht eingehalten werden können, bleiben die Aufenthalte aber förderfähig.

8. Ich kann meine Reise nicht antreten, da für mein Gastland eine Reisewarnung besteht. Einige Zeit später wird die Reisewarnung jedoch aufgehoben. Darf ich nachnominiert werden?
Ja. Sie können nachnominiert werden allerding ist dabei Folgendes zu beachten: 
1. Die Nominierung muss spätestens 14 Tage vor Aufenthaltsantritt ausgesprochen werden. 
2. Das Erasmus-Referat muss per E-Mail über die Nachnominierung informiert werden. 
3. Als Begründung für die Nachnominierung muss im E-Mail an das Erasmus-Referat "Aufhebung der Reisewarnung durch das BMeiA am dd.mm.jjjj" genannt werden. 

9. Ich kann nicht ins Gastland reisen, möchte aber meinen Aufenthalt zur Gänze in Form von E-Learning / Telearbeit absolvieren. Ist das möglich? 
Wenn Sie die Erasmus+ Förderung erhalten möchten, nicht, Nein. Wenn Lehrveranstaltungen via E-Learning außerhalb des Gastlandes absolviert werden, kann keine Förderung erfolgen. Studierenden erhalten sodann keinen Zuschuss und die Hochschulen erhalten dafür auch keine OS-Mittel. Ihnen wird keine Zuschussvereinbarung ausgestellt. 

10. Ich leide unter psychischen Problemen. Wen kann ich kontaktieren?
Wenden Sie sich dazu an die psychologische Studierendenberatungsstelle // Telefonnummer: +43 316 814748 // E-Mail
Hier gibt es Hinweise für den Umgang mit Corona.

11. Was muss ich beim Üben und Benutzen der Überäumebeachten?
Beachten Sie das Schreiben der ÖH. // Hier sehen Sie ein Video, wie ein Klavier mit Seifenlauge zu reinigen ist.

12. Wo kann ich Übezimmer buchen?
Übezimmer werden über KUGonline gebucht. Eine Anleitung dazu finden Sie hier.

13. Muss ich registriert werden, wenn ich auf die Universität komme?
Je nach aktueller Covid-19-Situation müssen Sie sich vorab anmelden, wenn Sie ein KUG-Gebäude betreten. Bitte beachten Sie die Informationen auf der Website der KUG. Sind Sie das erste Mal an der Universität, so müssen Sie außerdem die derzeit gültigen Sicherheitsregeln unterzeichnen.

14. OUTGOING: Wie lange muss meine Erasmus+ Aufenthalt dauern, um eine Förderung erhalten zu können?
Die Mindestdauer für Erasmus+ Studienaufenthalte beträgt drei Monate, für Praktika zwei Monaten. Es wird empfohlen diese Mindestdauern auch während der Corona-Pandemie möglichst einzuhalten. Unter bestimmten Umständen ist eine Verkürzung möglich.

Nota bene: Weitere Erasmus+ Aufenthalte während der COVID-19-Pandemie finden Sie auf der OEAD-Website hier und hier.


 

Fragen während der Bewerbung

1. Aktuelle studiere ich im Bachelorstudium und weiß schon jetzt, dass ich im Masterstudium ins Ausland möchte. Ab wann kann ich mich bewerben? 
Sie können sich bereits im Bachelorstudium bewerben, jedoch können Partneruniversitäten bei der Bewerbung das Bachelorzeugnis verlangen. 

2. Ist ein abgeschlossener ERASMUS+-Aufenthalt einer Bewerbung für ein Non-EU Student Exchange Program hinderlich?
Nein. Eine Bewerbung ist möglich. Sie haben damit keine Nachteile!

3. Worauf sollte ich bei meiner Bewerbung achten? 
Qualitativ hochwertige Bewerbungsunterlagen und ein Quäntchen Glück: Sie sollten Ihre sprachlichen und wissenschaftlichen Qualifikationen schriftlich belegen, Ihre Motivation für Ihren geplanten Studienaufenthalt erläutern und mit sehr guten Bewerbungsvideos überzeugen. Natürlich ist die endgültige Zusage auch abhängig von der Anzahl der Bewerbungen an der Partneruniversität, die nicht nur von Jahr zu Jahr sondern von Semester zu Semester sehr unterschiedlich sein kann. Sie können Ihre Chance um Zusage für einen Erasmus+ Aufenthalt erhöhen indem Sie sich an bis zu drei Universitäten parallel bewerben. Die endgültige Zusage sollte nach akademischen Motiven erfolgen. 


 

Fragen nach der Nominierung

1. Bis wann muss ich als Studierender im Studienjahr 2020/2021 nominiert werden?
Die Hauptnominierungsfristen für Studienaufenthalte im WS 2020/2021 sind der 15. Juli 2020 und der 31. August 2020 (Aufenthalte ab Oktober). Die Stichtage für die Nominierung von Praktikumsaufenthalten sind wie gewohnt der 1. und der 15. jedes Monats (14-tägige Vorlauffrist). Die weiteren Nominierungfristen entnehmen Sie bitte den Richtlinien für Erasmus+ Mobilität innerhalb der Programmländer. Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf der Website des OEAD hier.


 

Fragen während des Auslandsaufenthaltes

Durchführung von Erasmus+ Mobilitätsprojekten im Hochschulbereich im Kontext von COVID-19

1. Ich möchte an E-Learning-Lehrveranstaltungen meiner Gastuniversität teilnehmen. Was muss ich dabei beachten?
Bitte beachten Sie, dass Ihre Anwesenheit am Ort der Gastinstitution durch eine Bestätigung der Gasthochschule oder andere geeignete Nachweise bestätigt werden muss. Nach Beendigung des Aufenthalts reichen Sie die Aufenthaltsbestätigung beim zuständigen Erasmus-Referat ein.

2. Erhalte ich für E-Learning-Kurse am Ort der Gastinstitution eine Förderung?
Ja. E-Learning am Ort der Gastinstitution wird gefördert, vorausgesetzt Sie können Ihren Aufenthalt durch die Gastinstitution bestätigten (Ankunftsbestätigung, Aufenthaltsbestätigung). Sollten Sie aus irgendeinem Grund keine Bestätigung erhalten, können Sie andere Belege (Reisebelege, Meldebestätigungen etc.) vorlegen. Das ist auch dann möglich, wenn der gesamte Aufenthalt in Form von E-Learning oder Telearbeit absolviert wird. Selbstverständlich werden die E-Learning-Kursen mit ECTS-Credits bewertet, wenn diese Kurse Teil des Erasmus+ Learning Agreements sind.

3. Angenommen ich muss meinen Gastaufenthalt in meinem Gastland aufgrund von einem stärkeren Covid-19-Ausbruch abbrechen. Was muss ich dabei bedenken?
Covid-19- wurde von der Europäischen Kommission als ein Fall höherer Gewalt eingestuft. Sollten Sie aus Ihrem Gastland abreisen müssen, können Sie entstandene Kosten aufgrund "höherer Gewalt" bei der Nationalagentur einreichen. Achtung: Die Einstufung als Fall höherer Gewalt aufgrund von Covid-19 ist nur bei einer Reisewarnung (Sicherheitsstufe 5 und 6) des österreichischen Außenministeriums für Ihr Gastland bzw. die Region, in der sich ihre Gastinstitution befindet, oder wenn Sie Ihren Aufenthalt aufgrund der Covid-19-Maßnahmen nicht fortführen können (z.B. bei Betriebsschließungen), möglich. Beachten Sie daher stets die Reisewarnungen und Reisebeschränkungen auf der Seite des österreichischen Außenministeriums: www.bmeia.gv.at